DIASPORA – Greg Egan (1997)

Greg Egan DiasporaBefore this, I had read 6 Egan titles: 4 novels, 2 novellas. Judged by those, his work is remarkably consistent thematically, even though the reading experiences themselves differ widely – Egan is no one-trick pony.

My seventh Egan, Diaspora, just might be considered as a microcosmos of his oeuvre, and so, surely, the above applies as well. Diaspora consists of 7 parts and 20 chapters, stretching from 2975 to 4953 and even billions of years beyond, and all that in 321 pages.

Given such a scope, it’s not a surprise Egan chose an episodic structure, basically stringing a set of novellas together – all sharing near-immortal, digital characters that complete one overarching story. One of the chapters, Wang’s Carpets, originally appeared in 1995 in the New Legends anthology, and was published separately as an e-book as well.

Taken as a whole, I liked the novel, even though it had me skimming a significant amount. Let’s take a closer look.

Diaspora carries a lot of Egan’s familiar themes: the construction of software brains, like in Zendegi, far future transhumanism, like in Schild’s Ladder, the effect of alternative physical laws on existence, like in the Orthogonal series, and apocalyptic mayhem caused by cosmic disaster, like in the brilliant Perihelion Summer.

Egan starts with a chapter about the birth of a digital mind, and it sets the bar for what is to come: this is no breezy reading. He sets up a hightech utopia and some mystery and had me reading eagerly for quite some time. When the cosmic calamity happens, Egan gets into full post-apocalyptic mode, and I was thoroughly gripped, painting a very intriguing future society in which humans have evolved into a whole lot of different strands. The wealth of ideas in these first parts alone would have other authors fill a 1000-page trilogy.

At about the halfway mark, the focus on physics takes over for quite some time, and while I’m generally interested in these matters, I’m not interest enough for pages and pages of quantum-physics with a fictional twist. For my tastes this was too detailed, a form of “MathFiction” indeed, not unlike parts of Incandescence, which had similar problems. It’s probably worth quoting Egan again, about a negative reaction to that book:

“A few reviewers complained that they had trouble keeping straight the physical meanings of the Splinterites’ directions. This leaves me wondering if they’ve really never encountered a book before that benefits from being read with a pad of paper and a pen beside it, or whether they’re just so hung up on the idea that only non-fiction should be accompanied by note-taking and diagram-scribbling that it never even occurred to them to do this. I realise that some people do much of their reading with one hand on a strap in a crowded bus or train carriage, but books simply don’t come with a guarantee that they can be properly enjoyed under such conditions.”

I always have a pen next to my books, that’s not the problem, it’s just that I simply didn’t want to invest the mental energy to keep up with Egan in these particular parts. Luckily Egan keeps the overall story interesting, and by the end of the novel I was in awe for Diaspora‘s full scope and ideas, even though I have to admit I missed a big chunk of the intellectual creativity Egan invested to come up with the intricacies of his fictional multidimensional worlds. I wish I could say something more authoritative about it, but the line between Hard Science Fantasy and Hard Science Fiction seemed very, very blurry here.


Even though reading his works hasn’t always been a 100% success, Egan keeps drawing me in because he articulates sharp insights in the nature of our reality. In a way, he’s a mystic.

The real world was full of larger structures, and it required a profound myopia of scale and similarity to believe that everything beyond this shallow layer could be ignored.

And even though parts of the physics are fictional, and Egan’s brand of advanced transhumanism is a science fictional pipe dream, Diaspora offers an overarching, fundamental lesson: our existence is shaped by our perception and processing of information. As such a certain degree of solipsism is inescapable, and our struggles with that very notion are one of life’s continuous calibrations. Plato has written about a cave too, but Egan explicitly adds the element of identity: getting additional data changes one’s personality. It’s obvious, but I hadn’t thought about it like that, and so Egan changed my perspective, yet again.

Diaspora won two awards, the 2006 Seiun, a Japanese award for best translated novel, and the 2010 Premio Ignotus – basically the Spanish Hugo – for best foreign novel. I myself am unsure about what to award this novel: there are 5-star parts, and 5-star ideas too, but some parts couldn’t grip me at all, having me skim too much to speak of a fully successful read. But even though I didn’t put in the full effort, the ending was somehow very emotional – no mean feat. I hope one day, if I can anticipate it, my own death will not feel as a death either, but rather as completion. What more can one wish for?

So let’s leave it at: ymmv.

Diaspora Greg Egan


Consult the author index for my other reviews, or my favorite lists.

Click here for an index of my non-fiction or art book reviews, and here for an index of my longer fiction reviews of a more scholarly & philosophical nature.

18 responses to “DIASPORA – Greg Egan (1997)

  1. I remember this book blowing my mind when I first read it. The first chapter was really tough and the final chapters were just nuts. The best Egan I have read since has been his short story collection Axiomatic, but I haven’t read many of his novels. Only this one and Permutation City.

    Liked by 1 person

    • In that case, I think you´d really enjoy Schild´s Ladder. That was a phenomenal read for me, my first Egan.

      Permutation City is on my tbr, as is a short story collection (The Best of GE).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Schild’s Ladder is definitely on my list. From that Best of GE collection I liked the stories from Axiomatic the best, so I read that one in its entirety afterwards

        Liked by 1 person

        • Aha, good to know! We talked about already I think, but good to refresh my mind.

          Liked by 1 person

        • By the way, I just saw that he has published a new book in the beginning of this year, named Scale. Based on the synopsis, I think his recent novels (Dichronauts, The Book of All Skies) are not for me, but this new one might be. Either way, I guess I should read his books that are already on my TBR first, before I spend more money on Egan.

          Liked by 1 person

          • I have to warn you perhaps that after reading the entire Best of Greg Egan collection, the stories began to lose their lustre and some flaws became apparent in his style for me. In general I liked the earlier stories more than the later ones.

            Liked by 1 person

            • It seems his later work always follows the same scheme: change one thing in physics, and see what that results in. If that´s the main course, I´m not that interested.

              Like

            • Exactly my thoughts.
              After reading The Best of Greg Egan the stories began to lose some appeal at some point.
              I was very enthusiastic about the first stories, but the last ones were a kind of slog.
              I started reading Diaspora (my first Egan novel), but wasn’t in the mood for “idea” hard SF, so i began reading Ada Palmer.

              I will probably sometime resume reading it.

              Liked by 2 people

              • Thanks for chiming in, appreciated! Did you like Palmer? I was flabbergasted by the first book, but felt the series gradually lost a bit of its appeal.

                Like

              • @bormgans
                (Somehow there ist no reply button under your last comment)

                It took me a while to get into “Perhaps the Stars”, but after reading half the book I couldn’t put it away and immediatly continiued with “Seven Surrenders” which was even better.
                Now I’m 20% into “The Will to Battle” and it still is a slog and dragging. I hope it will get better.

                Liked by 1 person

              • (I think there’s a limit to how far down these replies can nest, but I get notified of every comment so no sweat)

                As for Palmer: these book get wildly different reactions from different people. I have to say the first book is the absolute best for me, nearly flawless, and indeed, addictive. I thought the second one was still great, but the third started to have some problems. I wouldn’t say I thought it was a slog, but it was a bit of a letdown. I felt the fourth one had even more problems, to the extent parts started to actively annoy me, on multiple fronts, most importantly the philosophical foundation Palmer build her stuff on. I tried to spell out why extensively in my review, but it has spoilers. Then again, I’ve read others naming it the best of the series.

                I don’t want to influence you too much, but my guess is if you get the vibe you describe from The Will to Battle, there’s a good chance the series won’t take a turn for the good anymore for you: Perhaps the Star is the most bloated of the books. On the other hand, while book 4 annoyed me, there’s also really good stuff in it too, so…

                Like

              • Also, maybe try Schield’s Ladder from Egan, still my favorite novel of his. Pretty sure the ones I have yet to read won’t top that.

                Like

  2. So, how much skimming did you do?
    I certainly can understand not having the mental reserves to deal with some of an authors’s writing…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good question. I think about 15-20%.

      If detailed particle physics was really active knowledge in my brain, it would probably be a bit less taxing, and maybe I would be more interested in that part of Egan’s writing, but somehow I doubt it, as I don’t really have problems when I read non-fiction books on the matter, like Brian Greene’s, or Adam Becker’s.

      Also, more importantly: I have trouble imagining 5 or 6 or more dimensions – and that probably is a matter of both mental ability & stamina. I haven’t practiced my math in over 25 years. So I easily succumb to a kind of handwavium approach, if you get what I mean, and so when I encounter stuff like that, after a while, I don’t even try to understand it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment