LORD OF LIGHT – Roger Zelazny (1967)

Lord Of Light

A short, quick review for this one, since I didn’t finish it.

I’m a big fan of the first Amber chronicles, but I couldn’t get into this book.

The writing felt heavy handed, and I didn’t care for the characters – much like you don’t really care for characters in most myths: they feel impersonal, archetypical, cardboardlike.

I tried, but stopped 1/3rd in. Maybe if I’d read on the story & the characters would have become more alive, but my intuition said ‘no’.

Maybe I’ll try again someday, as I think I started this with the wrong expectations. I guess I’ll read the second Amber chronicles and This Immortal first, to get a bit more Zelazny mileage.

originally written on November 30, 2014

One response to “LORD OF LIGHT – Roger Zelazny (1967)

  1. Pingback: TERMINAL BOREDOM: THIS IMMORTAL INCAL (3 short reviews) | Weighing a pig doesn't fatten it.

Leave a comment