FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON – Daniel Keyes (1966)

Flowers for Algernon first edition coverI keep a small list of canonical speculative fiction I have yet to read: Brave New World, Connie Willis’ Doomsday Book, The War of the Worlds, Ender’s Game, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Clockwork Orange, George Stewart’s Earth Abides and Pohl & Kornbluth’s The Space Merchants. They are canonical in the sense that they are often found near the top of all kinds of lists. The main reason why these particular titles still remain TBR after years of reading speculative fiction is that I don’t particularly want to read them at all.

You guessed it: Flowers for Algernon was on that list too. I’m not sure why to story did not really appeal to me – probably because it felt gimmicky and small.

When I read Richard Powers’ Bewilderment a few years ago, I learned Flowers of Algernon is pretty canonical in America. It’s on quite a lot of reading lists apparently – yet it is often challenged for removal from school libraries too. I decided to give it a go.

For those of you unfamiliar with the story, it’s about Charlie Gordon, a man with an IQ of 68 who has experimental surgery to make him smarter. Three months later he is a genius with an IQ of 185. The Algernon of the title is a mouse that had the same surgery, and starts to regress after some time.

First things first: Daniel Keyes’ debut novel – based on a short story he wrote in 1955 – is well written. Somehow, Keyes manages to grab the reader from the very first pages, and makes Charlie Gordon come across a real, authentic person. Keyes keeps the pace high, and the arc of Charlie interesting, and that’s not a mean feat at all – especially not since by now most readers know he will eventually lose his intelligence again. This makes Flowers for Algernon a novel in which the journey is the reward, not so much the climax.

Sentimentality is the book’s main draw. We feel for Charlie when he slowly realizes he was once retarded. We feel for Charlie as he remembers being bullied. We feel for Charlie when his mother can’t accept him being different. We feel for Charlie when he has trouble connecting with women. Again, making readers feel something is no mean feat at all, and Keyes deserves credit for that.

The novel’s themes by themselves are not superficial: what does intelligence do to a person? What does being smarter than most people around you do to someone? How are emotions and intelligence correlated? I’m sure lots of brainy people that read lots of books have bumped into these questions as teenagers, and possibly in their later lives as well.

But sadly this novel doesn’t show a lot of insight in the human condition – not that Keyes doesn’t have ambition, opening his novel with a quote from Plato’s Republic. Yet the end result is more philosophical soap opera than probing analysis: it seems as if the book only adds plot & emotion to the original short story, not so much ideas.

It’s a missed opportunity Keyes remains stuck in the dichotomy that many of these questions entail, and doesn’t offer much more than caricature: the smart guy has trouble with emotions. In the scenes with a fraudulent Gimpy, Keyes manages to even suggest rationality won’t really help when thinking about moral questions: “You’ve got to find the answer inside you – feel the right thing to do.” That’s obviously a load of bollocks, moral calculus is a real thing.

I’d rather side with Jan Lauwereyns, a Flemish author, who’s excellent novel Gehuwde Rotsen shows that rationality – which boils down to trying to understand stuff & people, and those attempts necessarily include doubt and insecurity – is a way to a bigger heart, contrary to the popular belief.

Charlie says this: “Intelligence is one of the greatest human gifts. But all too often a search for knowledge drives out the search for love. (…) Intelligence without the ability to give and receive affection leads to mental and moral breakdown, to neurosis, and possibly even psychosis. And I say that the mind absorbed in and involved in itself as a self-centered end, to the exclusion of human relationships, can only lead to violence and pain.”

I think the passage is misleading. Lacking “the ability to give and receive affection” is just as troubling for low IQ people as it is for very smart ones. What emotions are – another form of knowledge as Martha Nussbaum has it, rooted in biology as Jaak Panksepp wrote – or what intelligence exactly is, Keyes never explores. The novel remains stuck in clichés.

There has been a current of anti-intellectualism in our culture for ages, and Keyes surely didn’t do anything to counter it: according to a character Charlie lacks openness and warmth because of his higher IQ, and he becomes arrogant, self-centered and antisocial. The other brainiacs in the novel, the scientists in charge of the experiment, are petty and in it for their own careers.

Not that the novel doesn’t have any nuance whatsoever: to Keyes’ credit he shows that the characters that mistreat Charlie are human too, not monsters.

But that doesn’t save Flowers for Algernon from being superficial in how it treats intelligence. Aside from talk about Charlie learning lots of languages, reading lots of books and writing scientific papers, his character doesn’t have really intelligent insights at all. None of his thoughts were worth nothing down. Keyes’ focus never is on Charlie’s newly acquired mental powers, but rather on the emotional & social changes resulting from him becoming better at perceiving & understanding his surroundings.

The novel goes down easily, entertaining throughout, telling a simple, sentimental story that hardly asks the reader to look in the mirror or question anything. Or maybe it does for those with an average IQ? I don’t think so, but I could be wrong.

All and all, Flowers for Algernon has merit as an emotional soap opera story: it is smooth and crafted well. Those looking for speculative fiction that challenges the mind don’t miss a thing if they keep it on their to-read list for ever.


As for emotions: better watch Penny Marchal’s movie Awakenings. That is based on a true story, and leaves out the intelligence stuff. As it is without an attempt at some kind of philosophy, the movie – starring a superb De Niro – presents a similar arc that has a much clearer focus, and hence packs a much bigger emotional punch.



Consult the author index for all my other reviews, or my favorite lists.

Click here for an index of my non-fiction or art book reviews, and here for an index of my longer fiction reviews of a more scholarly & philosophical nature.

31 responses to “FLOWERS FOR ALGERNON – Daniel Keyes (1966)

  1. Interesting review. FFA, as I understood it, makes the point about the effect and consequence of sudden intelligence rather than a general observation of what it’s like to have a high IQ. But it has been a while since I read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, that´s certainly a valid way of looking at it. It describes the emotions of such a sudden increase well, but while doing so it confirms some clichés and a problematic dichotomy. As such, I think it´s a missed opportunity.

      Like

    • Another thought occurred to me: a steep, sudden rise in intelligence isn´t that interesting by itself, especially as it never occurs in real life. It´s a thought experiment that´s moot.

      Like

  2. I’ve never read the novel, only the short story – probably some time after coming back to the States at 19. Something to tackle when intelligence per se and how society treats those with a high IQ (and men differently from women) is a constant problem: people don’t like other people being smarter than they are, and will actively try to take the ‘elite’ down.

    Everyone gets the same 24 hours in a day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s indeed some kind of competition or status anxiety at work in how some people deal with smarter people, to the degree that in some circles having a university degree counts as a marker of actually not being intelligent at all, supposedly because those with a higher education lack common sense, etc. There’s obviously truth in that, as a significant part of the elites indeed have no idea of the plight those without a degree are in.

      Like

      • I think it would depend on what the degree is in – for some ‘fields,’ the jargon gets more esoteric; for the hard sciences (please note I admit bias), there is a lot of stuff that’s practical and yields to proof.

        They fly airplanes and space ships based on that proof. Common sense = prove it, and then show it applies.

        IMNVHO

        Like

  3. I’m having a very hard time accepting the fact that you actually suggested watching a movie over reading this book.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Awakenings is one of the most emotional movies I´ve ever seen, so it´s an easy recommendation for me to make, especially as there are clear parallels between both stories.

      But you are right: it´s not an either/or matter.

      I´m guessing you liked Flowers For Algernon?

      Liked by 2 people

      • Maybe if it ever shows up on tubi I’ll give it a try. But after dune 2, my bullshitometer is pretty much done with hollywood. So every single movie is now a chore and a weight.

        Algernon got my “best book of the year” when I read it, back in 14, 15 or 16 (can’t remember off the top of my head).

        Liked by 1 person

        • Okay, if you liked it that much, I can understand your reaction 🙂

          I just read your review, and I can totally sympathize with it – I felt similar emotions while reading the book too, but I also was distracted by the issues I describe in my review, so in the end this won’t be book of the year for me. Either way, we are in agreement about the merit of this book, and I think we identified the same strengths.

          As for Awakenings, that movie was made in 1990, back when Hollywood still made more quality stuff. If you thought FFA was heartbreaking, there’s a very, very big chance Awakenings will have you in tears as well. (And I know I was wrong about my prediction you’d like Dune 2, but I couldn’t have foreseen you bouncing off the changes to the book so hard – but again, we are in total agreement about the fact that those changes hurt the story big time.)

          Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t help wondering about the reasons that would place this story on a banned list….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. If my own review of this (https://wp.me/s2oNj1-algernon) pushed you unwillingly into reading this I apologise. 😁 I can see aspects of why you found it disappointing – for example its sentimentality, though I think it does at least try to explore the continuum going from sentimentality to empathy and compassion – but I found more to enjoy in its pages back in 2021 than to niggle me outright. But it would be a poor world if we all responded to experiences in exactly the same way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • No no, no need to apologize. Your excellent review is one of many that praise the book – and I can see why. I have no regrets reading it, I generally liked it. My critique is more on an intellectual level. Btw, I have no problem with the book’s sentimentality – maybe I picked a word with a connotation that’s more negative than I intended. And I also think the book succeeds in empathy and compassion, as I wrote, also empathy for the bullies and Charlie’s parents.

      I have one question though. You write in your review that the book is “wise”. Can you remember what wisdom the book imparted on you?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Took me this long, but I finally convinced myself to like this post 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think you’re looking at FFA from a slightly anachronistic perspective – it was written back in the 1960s, before the advancement of neurological sciences and the explosion of the field of consciousness, ethics, and emotions we have now. I don’t think Keyes was trying to form general opinions about intelligence or lack of it, I felt he was more going for how it feels to be granted an unexpected blessing and then having it taken away, in full knowledge of what the process will do to you. As for anti-intellectual stance in the U.S. culture, there is a great book about it, Hofstader’s Anti-intellectualism in American Life, that traces this trend back to the very beginnings. U.S. religious foundations are the main source of this trend, and FFA is a religious book. I would judge it as an attempt to go beyond that anti-intellectual perspective, though possibly not a fully successful one. My own review is here, if you’re interested: https://reenchantmentoftheworld.blog/2016/09/20/daniel-keyes-flowers-for-algernon-1966/.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a good remark, thanks. I agree with what you write, my review is anachronistic. But at the same time, it exactly shows how the book has dated a bit, and so that fact basically reduces it to the melodrama, so to say.

      I’m not sure if FFA tries to go beyond anti-intellectualism – in a way it subscribes to the idea that knowledge is sinful, like you point out, Keyes points out the original sin too. And in general, Keyes sticks to the clichés of the socially ill-adapted brainiac. Why do you think it tries to go beyond?

      I’ll read up about Hofstader, thanks. The bigger question is if America is exceptional in this regard – there surely are anti-intellectual tendencies in Europe as well. Maybe Asia is different? Africa? Other parts of the world? I have no clue actually.

      I agree with most what you write in your review btw – I was just bugged by stuff as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think he tries to go beyond anti-intellectualism just by conducting this thought experiment – it was clear to me that the gift of intelligence, however brief, was indeed a gift to Charlie, a form of short-lived blessing that let him perceive the world so much more deeply, and while it brought to him suffering as well, it was, in a way, evident also to you since you made this connection, a form of awakening. I think if you try to dissect this particular dichotomy, mind vs heart, reason vs emotion, you can see it is as false as it is pervasive – definitely noticeable in Western thinking, but possibly not limited to the West. If you look at tricksters around the world, they usually are inventive and heartless, from Loki to Anansi 😉

        I might research it up a bit, it is a fascinating subject.

        I was not wholly sold on the book, either. I gave it 8.5/10 because I felt the sentimentality was overplayed, but I also think we’re a different generation of readers and this had been a way more revolutionary book back in the 1960s.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Good question, Bart, and I had to think back to what I remember from reading this.

    I’m autistic, as is my wife – who’s also a psychologist and whose areas of expertise are on bullying and autism. If then we go with a definition of ‘wise’ as having or showing experience, knowledge, and good judgement I suppose the novel bolstered my understanding of how bullying impacts on some of those on the spectrum, especially those who exhibit as being different in looks, behaviours, and apparent mental capacities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for clarifying that. I agree the novel does that, but at the same time I was, in a way, shocked by how Charlie was treated by some of his colleagues. Things must have improved the last couple of decades, but still, I find it hard to accept behavior like that occurred not that long ago, and probably still occurs a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I think Keyes’s original short story/novelette from 1958-59 works rather better — along the lines Ola G. outlines above, with the economical word count (22 pages) cleanly laying out the tragedy and pathos of Charlie’s arc — than the expansion into the novel in 1967, where Keyes was constrained to ladle on all this other stuff.

    Years back, I glanced at the novel and felt no great urge to trudge through it. I want back and again looked at the short story, however, and that had the economy and concentration that great/really good short fiction is supposed to have — or near enough.

    Keyes’s problem was that he wasn’t a notable talent as a writer and yet he struck gold one time with this one short story, and so had to milk it into a novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes that could very well be. When I researched him a bit for the review, I notice he hadn´t written much else of worth. Funny thing is that he taught creative writing though.

      Like

Leave a comment