A BETRAYAL IN WINTER – Daniel Abraham (2007)

A Betrayal In WinterA Betrayal in Winter is the second book of the Long Price Quartet. For once this is a book of which the raving back cover blurbs are all true.

“There is much to love in the Long Price Quartet. It’s epic in scope, but character-centered. The setting is unique yet utterly believable. The storytelling is smooth, careful, and – best of all – unpredictable.” (Patrick Rothfuss)

“To call Daniel Abraham an exciting new author is to wildly understate the case. His entire Long Price Quartet is utterly original and incredibly seductive”. (Connie Willis)

“A Betrayal in Winter is exactly the kind of book I love: dynamic characters, sharp plotting, and an original, thoughtful take on magic. Abraham knows what he’s doing.” (Brandon Sanderson)

…all that, and the fact that this book is at times highly emotional too. It’s also a more important story about gender than Ancillary Justice or The Left Hand of Darkness, as it doesn’t have any easy surface gender story signifiers – on the contrary, it feels like a classic Shakespearian tale of intrigue, love, family and power.

Like the first book, this also comes to an elegant finish of its own. If you haven’t, read A Shadow In Summer first. I’m pretty sure you’ll feel compelled to read the entire Long Price Quartet.

originally written on the 11th of March, 2015


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s