About

In August 2014 I decided to review every book I read. At first I only published these reviews on Worlds Without End, an excellent speculative fiction site. In October 2015 I decided to revamp an old, dormant blog to host them in a place of their own. You are reading that blog.

I read a lot as a kid. But although I’ve studied linguistics & literary science, somewhere in my early 20ies I stopped reading fiction. 10 years later, a friend recommended me Anathem by Neal Stephenson. I decided to give it a go, since, well, I used to love reading fiction. It clicked. Banks’ Culture novels followed after that. My absolute favorite SF became the Dune-series, as for so many SF fanatics. Contrary to popular opinion, I think the last book, Chapterhouse Dune, is the pinnacle of what Frank Herbert wrote. I branched out to fantasy too, so there you go. 

The first 2.5 years of reviewing I read about book a week, but at the beginning of 2017 life happened, and now I’m aiming for 2 books a month, depending on the page count, work, stuff. So expect updates here at least every three weeks.

I’m living in Antwerp, Belgium. My mother tongue is Dutch, which might explain some mistakes or oddities in my English. Drop me a note if you spot any. 

Don’t hesitate to comment if you want to share opinions.

 

“What do you despise? By this are you truly known.” – Princess Irulan

12 responses to “About

  1. I came to the blog because of the name – we use it as a comment on testing in education here in the UK i.e. testing children doesn’t make them any more intelligent. Love what I found here. I too am a fan of the Dune series but I’m more a fan of Ursula K Le Guin’s work. I shall be a frequent visitor her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the kind words!

      I loved The Left Hand Of Darkness, but had problems with both The Dispossessed and Lathe. I’m planning to read Earthsee in the near future, I hope I’ll like that a lot as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It would be strange if everybody loved the same thing. It was the Earthsea series that got me hooked on UKLG. Hope you enjoy the novels.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

